Dr. Rogers Prize Colloquium

Loading Map....

Date(s) - Sep 26, 2015
1:00 pm - 5:00 pm

Vancouver Convention Centre - West Building


Dr. Rogers Prize Colloquium

Traditional Chinese Medicine & the Microbiome: A Modern Context for an Ancient Practice

Time: 1:00 to 5:00 pm

Date: Saturday, September 26th, 2015

Location: Vancouver Convention Centre ~ West Building

Dr. Jeffrey Bland, PhD
Co-founder, Institute of Functional Medicine and author of The Disease Delusion

Dr. Robert Rountree, MD
2015 Linus Pauling Award Winner and Chief Medical Officer, Thorne Research

Dr. Joseph J.Y. Sung, SBS, JP
Vice-Chancellor/President, Chinese University of Hong Kong and
Mok Hing Yiu Professor of Medicine
“Measuring an Eastern Distance with a Western Ruler”

There is no charge to attend; however, seating is limited.
Register early to avoid disappointment at DrRogersPrize.org

Details are as follows:

Dr. Rogers Prize Colloquium Examines “Traditional Chinese Medicine & the Microbiome:
A Modern Context for an Ancient Practice”

International panel to discuss emerging research on the microbiome and integration of eastern and western philosophies

Vancouver, B.C. (September 1, 2015): Registration is now open for the 2015 Dr. Rogers Prize Colloquium, which takes place at the Vancouver Convention Centre in Vancouver, B.C. on September 26th. The Dr. Rogers Prize is Canada’s foremost prize rewarding individual achievement in the growing field of complementary and alternative medicine (CAM).

Part of the biennial Dr. Rogers Prize celebrations, the Dr. Rogers Prize Colloquium brings together thought leaders, researchers, and clinicians in the field of Complementary and Alternative Medicine. The general public is encouraged to attend this free event exploring current trends in health care.

This year’s Colloquium theme, “Traditional Chinese Medicine & the Microbiome: A Modern Context for an Ancient Practice” is expected to appeal to a wide cross-section of disciplines. A learned panel will explore the practice of TCM with Western Medicine in the context of emerging research on the microbiome, and examine where they meet and complement each other. Participants include:

Dr. Joseph Sung, Vice Chancellor and President of the Chinese University of Hong Kong, is a world leader in gastroenterological research, who has been actively exploring the integration of TCM with Western medicine and seeking new means of collaboration between the two;

Dr. Jeffrey Bland, co-founder of the Institute for Functional Medicine and keynote speaker at the Gala Award Dinner, is recognized worldwide for creating “a new model of medicine that combines modern Western knowledge drawn from biochemistry and physiology with ancient Chinese wisdom and its concepts of balance and the interconnectedness of all things” (Dr. Frank Lipman); and,

Dr. Robert Rountree, the 2015 Linus Pauling Award Winner, is Medical Director of Boulder Wellcare in Boulder, Colorado, and Chief Medical Officer of Thorne Research. He is a world leader in the development and manufacturing of botanical supplements, and has a particular interest in the role of the microbiome in chronic disease. His clinical practice focuses on “the unique biochemical and emotional needs of individuals.”

An interview-style format with audience questions will follow the panelists’ presentations and be moderated by veteran journalist Stu McNish.

The winner of the 2015 Dr. Rogers Prize, a $250,000 cash award, will be announced at a gala dinner at the Fairmont Waterfront Hotel on Friday, September 25th. The evening will feature a keynote address by Dr. Jeffrey Bland, the “Father of Functional Medicine”, a medical approach that focuses on the personalized prevention and treatment of chronic diseases. He is the author of 11 books, the most recent of which is The Disease Delusion: A Radical New Way to Conquer the Causes of Chronic Illness for a Healthier, Longer, and Happier Life.


The $250,000 Dr. Rogers Prize for Excellence in Complementary and Alternative Medicine is awarded every two years to celebrate the achievements of researchers, practitioners, and others in the field of CAM healthcare, pioneers who dare to “push the boundaries” in pursuing new and innovative approaches to wellness and the treatment of illness. The largest prize of its kind, the first Dr. Rogers Prize was awarded in 2007.

The Dr. Rogers Prize recognizes those who embody the same level of vision, leadership, and integrity as that of the late Dr. Roger Hayward Rogers. Among the first physicians to provide non-traditional therapies for cancer patients, Dr. Rogers was appointed to the Order of British Columbia in 2001 in recognition of his ground-breaking work.


  • Dr. Alastair Cunningham (2007)
  • Dr. Abe Hoffer (2007)
  • Dr. Hal Gunn (2009)
  • Dr. Badri (Bud) Rickhi (2009)
  • Dr. Marja Verhoef (2011)
  • Dr. Sunita Vohra (2013)


Visit DrRogersPrize.org for more information or to begin the nominations process.